What a property report costs in South Africa in 2026: R48 to R235, and what you actually get
Nine sellers, one address: prices run from R48 to R235 a report. What each one shows, how long it takes, and where findproperly's R99 sits.
Type an address into Google and a property report is one of the first paid things offered back to you. The prices sitting behind that offer, for the same basic question, who owns this and what did it last sell for, run from R48 to R235 depending which page you land on. We priced nine of them against our own report at R99 to see what the spread actually buys.
What one report costs today
Five sites sell what's essentially the same bare deeds extract: MyDeedSearch, DEEDSOnline and eDEEDS at R235, DeedsOffice.Online and DeedsCheck at R230. Property24's Property Report is R118. findproperly charges R99, and the two reports aren't the same thing. propertyai.co.za asks R150. TPN is the cheapest at R48, and Lightstone's once-off Seller or Buyer Value Report is R201,25 including VAT.
| Seller & price | Arrives | Prerequisite | On a miss | Nearby sales |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reports with nearby salesDeeds record plus sales context | ||||
findproperly R99 This report: pull one now | Good: Instant On screen, plus an email with a PDF copy and a link good for 30 days | Good: Email address No account needed | Good: Not charged Nothing found, nothing charged | 15 nearby Registered sales, on a map |
TPN R48 | Not stated: Not stated Behind sign-in | Poor: Account + erf number Searches by erf, not address | Not stated: Not stated | 20 Plus automated valuation |
Property24 R118 | Middle ground: Emailed No time given | Not stated: Not stated | Not stated: Not stated | 30 Last 10 street, last 20 nearby, plus automated valuation |
propertyai.co.za R150 | Good: Instant As claimed; format not stated | Not stated: Not stated | Not stated: Not stated | 5 Plus automated valuation and AI summary |
Lightstone Seller/Buyer Report R201,25 | Not stated: Not stated | Not stated: Not stated | Not stated: Not stated | 20 Plus automated valuation |
| Deeds record onlyNo sales context | ||||
DeedsCheck R230 | Middle ground: Minutes Emailed within 5 minutes | Good: Email address No account needed | Middle ground: Refunded In full, automatically | None Adds a map |
DEEDSOnline R230 | Middle ground: Minutes Emailed, "within minutes" | Poor: Account + ID number Required for POPIA compliance | Not stated: Not stated | None |
DeedsOffice.Online R230 | Poor: 1 working day Emailed | Good: Email address Account not stated | Poor: Charged A "no results" search is still billed | None |
eDEEDS R235 | Middle ground: Minutes Emailed, "within minutes" | Middle ground: Account | Not stated: Not stated Fees generally non-refundable | None |
MyDeedSearch R235 | Poor: 1 working day Emailed; FAQ says within 1 working day | Good: Email address Account not stated | Poor: Charged A "not found" counts as a completed search | None |
How fast, and what it takes to get one
"Instant" gets used loosely. Four of the five deeds shops say a report lands in minutes; MyDeedSearch's own FAQ says one working day, on the same page that calls the product instant. DeedsOffice.Online is upfront about the working day, no contradiction there. None of them shows anything on screen. Every one is a PDF to an inbox, which is fine until nothing arrives.
Two of the five want an account before they'll run a search at all. DEEDSOnline's FAQ states plainly that a search "requires a verified user account and ID number for POPIA compliance." eDEEDS's terms require an account as well. VerifyNow's search doesn't take an address in the first place. It wants a South African ID number you already have the right to use, plus a lawful reason for asking, and returns a report either way, R29,90 at its cheapest tier.
What happens when the deeds office has nothing is where the real difference sits. MyDeedSearch's FAQ calls a "not found" result a successfully completed search, and charges for it. DeedsOffice.Online does the same, on the reasoning that a "no results" answer is itself information. DeedsCheck is the one outlier that refunds automatically when the registry has no record for the address searched.
What's actually in it
The five deeds shops sell the same short list: registered owner, purchase price and date, deed number, bonds, endorsements, transfer history. None of their pages mentions a comparable sale, and only DeedsCheck adds a map. Sample PDFs from DEEDSOnline and DeedsCheck confirm it field by field: a data table with the owner's ID number masked, no street address on DEEDSOnline's, and bond amounts shown as "NIL" where there's nothing to report.
Property24, propertyai.co.za, TPN and Lightstone all add an automated valuation and nearby sales on top of the bare extract, which is closer to what findproperly's report does. Two of those samples are worth flagging by date. Property24's published sample is dated 24 April 2023, and TPN's June 2026 sample shows comparable sales that stop in October 2023. Neither tells you how current the live product is.
findproperly's report carries the owner, every transfer with its price and date, bonds and the institutions behind them, endorsements, and 15 nearby registered sales with price, date, size and distance, plotted on a map. It does not carry an automated valuation, and it does not ask for an ID number. What it does ask is an email address, and the report is fetched from the deeds office when you buy it, not from a cache.
The wholesale layer underneath
Deeds-office data is also sold wholesale, by Lexis WinDeed and Lightstone, mostly to conveyancers, banks and agencies. A private individual can register with WinDeed directly, with banking details on file and a debit order or a prepaid voucher, and pull raw searches at a lower rate per search. What you get is the record, not a report: no map, no nearby sales, and nothing on screen the moment you ask. That is the trade every shop on this page is charging for.
How this compares abroad
The UK's official copy of the title register is £7, about R152. Ireland's plain folio is €5, about R91. New Zealand's record of title is NZ$8, about R72, and its paid comparables-and-valuation report from QV is NZ$29,99, about R271. Ontario's parcel register is C$35,68, about R404. A US ownership and encumbrance report averages around US$90, about R1 439. At the World Bank's 2025 purchasing-power rate of R7,42 to the international dollar, R99 works out to about 13 international dollars, roughly what a bare Irish register extract costs and less than the UK's, for a report that also plots 15 nearby sales on a map.
Where findproperly sits
findproperly is R99, VAT included, fetched from the deeds office at the moment you buy it. No account, no ID number, just an email address and a card, Apple Pay, EFT, QR or Capitec Pay.
The report is on screen as soon as it lands, and the email that follows carries a PDF copy as well as a link that opens it for 30 days. The report page has Download PDF, Share and Print, and the printed page and the PDF both show the property's boundary drawn over satellite imagery, not just a table. Make a free account under the same email, from a browser you've opened the report in, and it stays in your library after the link runs out.
We don't sell an automated valuation. An estimate isn't the same as what similar properties nearby actually sold for, and we'd rather show you the sales and let you judge. If the deeds office has nothing on the address, you pay nothing.
See what one costs on /report.
Sources
- 1.MyDeedSearch: Instant Property Search mydeedsearch.co.za
- 2.DEEDSOnline: Instant Property Search deedsonline.co.za
- 3.eDEEDS: Instant Property Search edeeds.co.za
- 4.DeedsOffice.Online: Instant Property Search deedsoffice.online
- 5.DeedsCheck: Property Search Report deedscheck.co.za
- 6.Property24: Purchase a Property Report (archived copy) web.archive.org
- 7.Property AI: Full Report propertyai.co.za
- 8.TPN Reports reports.tpn.co.za
- 9.Lightstone: Residential Property Reports corporate.lightstone.co.za
- 10.Lexis WinDeed: Pricing windeed.co.za
- 11.VerifyNow: Property search by ID verifynow.co.za
- 12.HM Land Registry fee increase (Propertymark) propertymark.co.uk
- 13.landdirect.ie: Tailte Éireann landdirect.ie
- 14.LINZ: Land record order fees linz.govt.nz
- 15.QV e-Report (archived copy) web.archive.org
- 16.Ontario property ownership records (Open Council, archived copy) web.archive.org
- 17.ProTitle USA: O&E Report protitleusa.com
- 18.World Bank: PPP conversion factor, South Africa api.worldbank.org